5 Questions That Will Make You Want To Organize Your Closet

EVERYDAYORDER_084

Have you ever opened up your closet, cringed at the sight of all your clothes and still felt like you had nothing to wear? What if your closet looked like a stylist came and hand picked items just for you? With a little work and some fun, it can.

everydayorder_headshots_025

I want you to get excited each time you open up your closet in the morning. That can be hard to do when so much of the time our drawers and closets are overflowing with clothes we so seldom wear. If, however, we can find those pieces we love to wear regularly, we will start to form a curated collection of clothes we actually want to wear.

EVERYDAYORDER_091

Before you head to your closet and start purging, start with a plan. For a complete guide on how to actually clean out your closet and plan for a new wardrobe, check out Unfancy’s workbook.

Since I was born and raised in California, I can’t help that my style leans towards comfortable, effortless and simple. I like to use Pinterest to create seasonal outfit boards and if an article of clothing does not fit into those parameters, it doesn’t even make it into the dressing room, let alone my closet.

EVERYDAYORDER_099

I bet when you imagine your dream closet, it’s not cluttered with items you might wear “someday.” Here are some of my favorite questions to ask yourself when clearing out your closet.

Closet Clean-out Questions

Is keeping this item standing in the way of creating the closet I really want?

Would I go to the store and pay full price for this item today?

Will I wear this in the next 3-6 months (or ever)?

Do I already own something similar?

Does this energize me or drain me?  

I hope this gives you some motivation to analyze and assess your closet. Remember you don’t have to do it all at once, it’s completely fine to tackle your closet one section at a time. Stay tuned, because in the next post I’ll share more closet tips with you.

 

Leave a comment